Senators Johnny Isakson, David Perdue Request Audit of All Fetal Tissue Research

Continue Fight To Investigate Planned Parenthood

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Johnny Isakson (R-GA) and David Perdue (R-GA) joined 33 senators in sending a letter to the Obama administration requesting an audit of all fetal tissue research funded or conducted by the administration to determine compliance with the law. Federal laws make it illegal to knowingly acquire, receive, or accept a donation of human fetal tissue for valuable consideration.

“The Planned Parenthood videos recently released by the Center for Medical Progress raise serious concerns about potential violations of federal law prohibiting the transfer of fetal tissue for valuable consideration,” write the senators in the letter to the Inspector General for the Department of Health and Human Services. “The Department does not appear to have conducted any internal investigation of their own research practices or any audits or other oversight of their contractors, suppliers, and grantees with regard to their compliance with fetal tissue research laws and instead relied on assertions of compliance.”

This letter is part of an ongoing effort to investigate the allegations raised in the recently released videos from the Center for Medical Progress that bring into question the legality of fetal tissue transfer practices at Planned Parenthood and, potentially, other abortion providers. Senators Isakson and Perdue have also co-sponsored legislation that prohibits federal funding for Planned Parenthood and voted multiple times to protect innocent lives.

Joining Senators Isakson and Perdue on the letter led by Senator Rand Paul (R-KY) were Senators John Barrasso (R-WY), Roy Blunt (R-MO), John Boozman (R-AR), Richard Burr (R-NC), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Dan Coats (R-IN), Thad Cochran (R-MS), John Cornyn (R-TX), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Steve Daines (R-MT), Mike Enzi (R-WY), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Ron Johnson (R-WI), James Lankford (R-OK), Mike Lee (R-UT), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Rob Portman (R-OH), James Risch (R-ID), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Tim Scott (R-SC), Jeff Sessions (R-AL), John Thune (R-SD), David Vitter (R-LA), Roger Wicker (R-MS).

The full letter can be found here.