Senators Isakson, Perdue Vote to Stop EPA’s Energy Tax

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Johnny Isakson (R-GA) and David Perdue (R-GA) today applauded the passage of two resolutions that will prevent the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) from implementing new energy regulations that could raise the cost of living for hardworking taxpayers and turn back the clock on America’s energy independence.

The first resolution of disapproval, S.J.Res.24, passed by a vote of 52-46 and stops the EPA from implementing its newest requirement that existing coal-fired power plants reduce their emissions by 32 percent by the year 2030. The second resolution of disapproval, S.J.Res.23, passed by a vote of 52-46, and prevents the EPA’s plan from being imposed on new power sources in the future.

Senators Isakson and Perdue were co-sponsors of both resolutions of disapproval.

“I am thankful for the Congressional Review Act that has given Congress the power to stop this unwarranted overreach by an administration that is set on pursing policies that kill jobs and raise the cost of living for hardworking Georgians,” said Senator Isakson. “I will continue to use all means necessary to fight these attempted power grabs.”

“Once again, President Obama has acted unilaterally to impose his job-killing climate change agenda,” said Senator Perdue. “President Obama’s newest tax on coal would drive up energy prices and reduce the reliability of our electric grid. Affordable energy is key to attracting manufacturing jobs to our shores and outlawing coal would only make our nation less competitive with the rest of the world. For these reasons, a majority of states and a majority of Congress have told the President they are opposed to his liberal energy tax. It is time to put this onerous regulation back on the President’s desk and have him explain to the American people why he wants to unilaterally remove the backbone of American energy.”


The Obama administration’s “Clean Power Plan” released on Aug. 3, 2015, requires an even greater reduction in emissions than the rule that had originally proposed in June 2014, and demands that states submit a plan to implement the rules by 2016. The new regulations are expected to impact hundreds of fossil-fuel plants, including 600 coal-powered plants, and cause double-digit electricity price increases in 40 states, including Georgia.

Senators Isakson and Perdue blasted the plan at the time, citing massive costs and no measurable reduction in emissions worldwide. They signed on as original co-sponsors of S.1324, the Affordable Reliable Electricity Now Act of 2015, which would delay the rule until legal proceedings from 26 states, including Georgia, have concluded, as well as give states the ability to opt out of the rule. Additionally, S.1324 would prevent the EPA from withholding federal highway funds if a state doesn’t submit a plan.

Senators Isakson and Perdue also sent letters to President Obama and EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy during the proposal phase in opposition to the Obama administration’s proposed Clean Power Plan and calling for the rule’s withdrawal.