Senators Isakson, Perdue: President Obama Should Not Reward Iran’s Bad Behavior

Cite Ballistic Missile Tests in Letter to Administration Regarding Sanctions Relief

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Yesterday, U.S. Senators Johnny Isakson (R-GA) and David Perdue (R-GA), members of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, called on the Obama Administration to not lift sanctions on Iran due to the country’s recent ballistic missile tests, which United Nations Ambassador Samantha Power determined violate United Nations Security Council Resolution (UNSCR) 1929.

In a letter to President Obama, Senators Isakson and Perdue, along with 34 senators expressed their concerns over the Obama Administration’s lack of response to Iran’s blatant disregard for its international obligations and Iran’s willingness to advance their intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) program that could enable delivery of a nuclear weapon to United States. So far, the Obama Administration has condemned the attacks but has not followed these statements with tangible restrictions or economic repercussions.

“We are concerned that your administration is failing to respond to Iran's dangerous and destabilizing actions out of an eagerness to see the Iran deal go forward,” said the Senators. “This approach toward Tehran undermines further an already weak Iran deal and jeopardizes our national security interests and the safety of Americans and our allies. For these reasons, we urge your administration to not lift sanctions on Iran that would provide billions of dollars in economic relief.”

Senator Kelly Ayotte (R-NH) led the letter signed by Senator Isakson, Senator Perdue, and Senators Lamar Alexander (R-TN), John Barrasso (R-WY), Roy Blunt (R-MO), John Boozman (R-AR), John Cornyn (R-TX),Tom Cotton (R-AR), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Michael Enzi (R-WY), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Cory Gardner (R-CO), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Orrin Hatch (R-NV), Dean Heller (R-NV), James Inhofe (R-OK), Mark Kirk (R-IL), Mike Lee (R-UT), John McCain (R-AZ), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), James Risch (R-ID), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Tim Scott (R-SC), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), John Thune (R-SD), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Patrick Toomey (R-PA), Roger Wicker (R-WY).

The full text of the letter can be viewed here.