Senator David Perdue Calls for Budget Transparency of All Auto-Pilot Spending

Requests GAO Release Full Inventory of Accounts with Spending Authority and Permanent Appropriations

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator David Perdue (R-GA) along with seven other Senators, recently wrote Gene Dodaro, Comptroller General and Government Accountability Office director, requesting that GAO update Congress on the growth of federal programs that remain outside of the annual appropriations process. Since the last report in 1996, federal spending has increased by roughly $2 trillion. With a fully updated report, the Senate will have a better understanding of what government programs have been running on autopilot for nearly two decades. 

“Georgians deserve to know what Washington is doing with their money, and a thorough report from the GAO is an important step on our path to transparency in the budget,” said Senator Perdue. “Since the last time this report was updated, the size and scope of our federal government has skyrocketed, and federal spending has shot up by over $2 trillion. As a member of the Senate Budget Committee, I will continue to fight every day to make Washington more transparent, efficient, and accountable to the American people.”

The letter specifically requests GAO to:

1.      Update the data reported in your 1996 inventory 

2.      Identify accounts provided with backdoor authority between 1996 and fiscal year 2016

3.      Identify accounts reported in 1996 that no longer have such authority in fiscal year 2016

4.      Give legal citations providing spending authority

5.      Determine whether the accounts are subject to or exempt from sequestration or subject to any special rules or limitations

6.      Determine the change in accounts in terms of the number of accounts and dollar amounts used or collected

Read the full letter HERE. The other signatories of the letter include:

Senator Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Senator John Barrasso (R-WY), Senator

Thad Cochran (R-MS), Senator Steve Daines (R-MT), Senator Johnny

Isakson (R-GA), Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC), Senator Roger Wicker (R-MS)