Isakson, Perdue Statements on U.S. Marshal Nomination to Northern District of Georgia

Coweta County Sheriff Michael Yeager to be nominated by president

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Johnny Isakson (R-GA) and David Perdue (R-GA) today released the following statements regarding President Trump’s announcement of his intent to nominate Michael S. Yeager of Moreland, Georgia, to fill the U.S. Marshal vacancy for the Northern District of Georgia.

“Sheriff Yeager’s experience throughout so many facets of law enforcement demonstrates that he has the wisdom and expertise appropriate for a U.S. Marshal,”  said Senator Isakson. “I look forward to working with Sheriff Yeager through his Senate confirmation process.” 

“Georgia is home to some of the most impressive law enforcement officers in the nation,” said Senator Perdue. “I applaud President Trump on nominating Sheriff Michael Yeager. He will serve our nation well and make Georgia proud.”

Yeager has served as the sheriff of Coweta County, Georgia, since his election to the position in 1993. He has nearly four decades of law enforcement experience, beginning as a patrolman with the Newnan Police Department in 1980. Yeager is the current chairman of the Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council, serves on the Board of the Georgia Department of Community Supervision and serves as a member of the state’s Immigration Enforcement Review Board. He is an active member and past president of the Georgia Sheriffs’ Association and a past president of the Georgia Sheriffs’ Youth Homes. Yeager currently serves as president of the Constitutional Officers Association of Georgia, which consists of all current sheriffs, probate judges, tax commissioners and superior/state court clerks of Georgia. In 2006, Yeager received both the Georgia Sheriff of the Year Award and the Governor’s Public Safety Award for Outstanding Contribution to Profession.

The White House press release on today’s announcement is here.