Isakson, Perdue Congratulate Georgia Superintendent on Being Named 2015 National Superintendent of the Year

Clarke County’s Philip D. Lanoue awarded national honor by School Superintendents Association

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Johnny Isakson (R-GA) and David Perdue (R-GA) today congratulated Clarke County School District Superintendent Philip D. Lanoue of Athens, Georgia on being named the 2015 National School Superintendent of the Year by the School Superintendents Association on Thursday, Feb. 26, 2015.

“I send my heartiest congratulations and thanks to Dr. Lanoue on his achievement,” said Senator Isakson. “His efforts earned him a wonderful award and recognition from his peers, and also bring honor to the administration and students of Clarke County School District as well as to our entire state. It is wonderful that a Georgia superintendent is being honored nationally.”

“All Georgians are proud of Dr. Philip Lanoue for his outstanding work as Clarke County Superintendent,” said Senator Perdue. “Sending more money and power to Washington is not going to make our schools better. The best way to improve our education system is to ensure Georgia’s local education leaders, parents, teachers, and administrators like Dr. Lanoue have the tools they need to help our children learn and succeed.”

Lanoue has a distinguished record of achievement throughout his career, including in the Cobb County School District as an area assistant superintendent before being named superintendent in Clarke County in July 2009. He received his Ph.D. from Mercer University in Macon, Ga.

Lanoue was named Georgia Superintendent of the Year on Dec. 5, 2014, by the Georgia School Superintendents Association and the Georgia School Boards Association. That designation made him eligible to be considered for the national award.

Isakson has spent much of his public service career focused on education issues and served as chair of the Georgia Board of Education for two years, from 1997 until 1999.